Wrinkles by Amy Rae

Recipe Review: Oreo Cheesecake Cookies

Posted on: December 27, 2011

Since the hubbers loves Oreos (me, too!  me, too!), I thought this cookie recipe would be a happy surprise for him.  Truth be told, he was happily surprised and gobbled them up.  However, our opinions were split down the middle.  While the hubbers and others said these cookies were good, I was not so thrilled with them and rather upset that I’d wasted so many perfectly fine Oreos.  However, I was thrilled with my new PPM (since this was the first recipe I used with it).

Oreo Cheesecake Cookies ♥♥ (2/5 hearts)

recipe retrieved from here

1/2 cup unsalted butter, room temp
3 oz. cream cheese, room temp
1 cup granulated sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup mini chocolate chips
1 cup Oreo cookie crumbs

(full disclosure:  I used salty butter, whole wheat flour, and forgot to add the chocolate chips)

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

In a mixing bowl, combine butter and cream cheese on medium until smooth.   Add sugar and vanilla and mix.  Add flour and mix.  Stir in chocolate chips.

Put Oreo crumbs in a bowl.  Scoop cream cheese dough mixture into 1.5 – 2″ balls and then roll in cookie crumbs.  Place cookie balls on cookie sheet and bake 12-15 minutes.

 

Sounds easy enough, right?  This recipe gave me all sorts of trouble.

Meh.

The final step (rolling the dough in Oreo crumbs) was way more difficult than it should’ve been, and I’m still not really sure why. In the first batch, I used Oreos mashed up in a plastic Ziploc bag.  This is how they came out:

the red is from the Holiday Oreos

Ugly, right?  The cookies were HUGE because apparently I didn’t consider how big these crumbly monsters would be after adding the chunky crumbs.  Plus, mashing Oreos in the bag seemed to waste a TON of Oreos (half the bag) on just a few rolled up balls.

For the second batch, I broke out the food processor and ground up the Oreos (mint ones this time – my favorite!).  This method was much preferred, since it was easier to roll the dough in the crumbs and it wasted less Oreos.  However, I had to pre-flatten the cookies before baking, otherwise they stayed puffed up chunky monsters.

Maybe these would’ve been better with the chocolate chips, but I’m hesitant to try again to find out.  I’d much rather just eat regular ol’ Oreos.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives