Wrinkles by Amy Rae

Recipe Review: Broccoli Chicken Casserole

Posted on: December 27, 2011

I’ve recently tried my hand at a few recipes and figured I’d add my two cents for posterity.  So here goes:

Broccoli Chicken Casserole:   5/5 hearts

(recipe retrieved from here)

This casserole is AMAZING.  The salty, buttery goodness of the cracker crust finishes this piece to perfection.  However, this is not your 15 minute whip-it-up casserole.  It took me a good hour to put in the oven, but there are some time savers.  For instance, you could boil and chop your chicken beforehand.  I like to boil several chicken breasts at one time and separate the product into dinners over the course of a few nights, e.g., chicken salad, brunswick stew, chicken and dumplings.  Added bonus:  you can save and reuse the water from boiling method as chicken broth!

Another time saver is to have a kitchen helper – someone on hand to chop and mix along with you would certainly speed this along!

Ingredients:

1 lb. broccoli (I used steam-in-the-bag and chopped it up afterwards)
3 cups cooked chicken breasts
3 cups grated SHARP cheddar cheese
2 sleeves Ritz crackers
1/2 cup melted butter
1 tbsp. poppy seeds
1/3 cup chicken broth
1/4 cup cornstarch
1/4 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. pepper
2 cups milk

Directions:

Grease a 13×9 pan and layer broccoli and chicken.  Set aside.

In a saucepan over medium heat, combine butter, cornstarch, chicken broth, salt + pepper, and milk.  Stir well and continue to stir until sauce has thickened.  (I just stirred for five minutes or so)  Add 1.5 cups of cheese and stir until melted.  Stir, stir, stir.

Pour over chicken and broccoli and top with remaining cheese.

Add poppy seeds to melted butter, stir.  Add crushed Ritz crackers, stir.  Spread crumbs over top of casserole.  (note:  I crushed my crackers while they were still in the sleeve.  I recommend crunching them lightly – the bigger chunks make this casserole terrific!)

Bake uncovered at 350 degrees for 30 minutes, or until bubbling goodness.

My husband and I ate this for DAYS afterwards and it never got old.  It heats up nicely and satisfies every time.  I highly recommend this recipe!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives