Wrinkles by Amy Rae

Art Trays

Posted on: December 27, 2011

As always, I go to Michaels for one thing and end up with 1,000 things I didn’t plan to purchase.  Darn you, Michaels!

But this last trip was a goody.  Although I couldn’t find the glass painting materials I wanted (Pebeo paint), I left with three Christmas present projects and I couldn’t be happier with the results.

I started with three art trays/lap boards (whatever you want to call them).  $5 each.

Add Sharpie paint pens – wayyyy better than both Sanford and Elmer’s.

And voila!  Three gifts in under an hour.

my first ever attempt at drawing a racecar

racecar detail

Teddy's dinosaur

dinosaur detail

Charlotte's monogram

Monogram detail

I was pretty pleased with how they all turned out, with the exception of the monogrammed C I did for lil’ Charlotte.  This was the first tray I did, and when I started I didn’t have a clear picture of exactly what it was that I was going to do.  So the end result is an off-centered hodgepodge, but overall it works ok.  Charlotte’s mom was happy and that’s all that matters!

On Christmas morning, Jack knew exactly which art tray belonged to him, even without being able to read.  “Mine is the RACECAR!”  Gotta love it!

1 Response to "Art Trays"

[…] ?!?!?  – Sorta kinda.  Made art trays for the boys, and a monogram letter for Charlotte.  (see here and […]

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives