Wrinkles by Amy Rae

Itchy fingers

Posted on: August 9, 2011

In a few days (countdown:  T-9), the agonizing experience of comprehensive exams will be over.  It’s not so much that this exercise is terribly difficult – I mean, I know the stuff – but the worst of it is that I have to produce something under a deadline.  Well, two somethings – 2 25 page papers.  And, if you know me at all, you know that I don’t make deadlines.  Not ever.  Never.  Like, the idea that I will have to submit this stuff at 5 o’clock next Wednesday scares the pee out of me (not that that’s a stretch with this baby pressing on my bladder, but still!).

I’m anti-deadlines.  I think they are great for everyone else, but I have the worst time hitting one.  Seriously, I cannot think of a time that I turned a paper in either a) ahead of schedule (who does that?!?) or b) by the due date/time.  I am the queen of extensions, incompletes, and begging on my knees.  So needless to say, it’s the deadline that is freaking me out.

In order to quell my anxieties – no Xanax for the preggie lady! – I’ve turned to daydreaming about all of the fabulous crafting that I will be able to do in just a few days.  Because, you see, this is the first time that I will turn something in on time, and thus, it is the first time that I will not have a project hanging over my head.  Yay me!

No nagging papers to write.
No papers to grade.

Effective Wednesday, August 17 at 5 pm, I have nothing to do but cook this little bean in my belly.  I’m not going to be teaching, taking classes, or managing projects this semester.  I’ll have a little housekeeping to do with my assistantship, a small talking paper to write for an upcoming conference, and fieldwork – but other than that, let the nesting begin!

My plans keep growing and growing and growing, so I’ve started making a list.  Yes, a list – a very long list – of all the fun and super fabulous things I want to do and make during my rare down time.

There are 3 rooms to paint (playroom, bathroom, and guest room)
Teddy’s blanket to finish
Teddy’s birth announcements to make
Thank You cards
Halloween + Thanksgiving cards to create and have on standby
Christmas cards
Christmas gifts ?!?!?
Blanket for my friend’s December baby
My Etsy shop to update and add to
A matching scarf + hat to knit for Ksmart, who just moved to cold, cold Illinois  : (
Earrings using fabulous Kazuri beads I’ve had for-ev-er
Button bracelets to thread and sell
Learning to thread and use super expensive sewing machine that’s been sitting dormant for almost a year
Learning to embroider on said sewing machine
Making a new duvet cover for our bed (I’m thinking red?!)
Sewing/creating throw pillows for just about everywhere
And other fun things yet to be determined…

I’m so pumped!  Just nine more days.

Nine more days.  Holy crapnuggets.

(&)(@#*&$)(!!  I need to get writing.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives