Wrinkles by Amy Rae

Knitting Addiction

Posted on: January 29, 2011

As if I needed something *else* to do with what itty-bitty-teeny-weeny spare time that I have, in the last few weeks, I’ve picked up knitting.  Yes, knitting.  With needles, yarn, and all the accoutrements.

See, it started like this:  one of my friends on FB is always posting these awesome crafty type things that she’s created for her daughter, her friends, and her family.  She is a knitting diva, and I just fell.in.love with this little gnome hat she stitched for her munchkin:

(I would post many more adorable photos of this hat, but I’m not entirely sure she would appreciate me splashing her doll all over the internet!)

So all these pictures and projects got me thinking.  I am completely addicted to Criminal Minds, and woe is me! they don’t stream that on Netflix InstantWatch.  So I have to go downstairs (boo!) and watch it on Ion every night.  Every night.  From 9-11 or 12, and sometimes 1 am.  I’m not kidding.  Every night.  Aaaaannnnd, since I was spending those hours in front of the television anyway, I figured that I needed a project for tv time.  Enter:  knitting.  I can pick it up and put it down.  I can watch tv and purl my little heart out.  Ta-da!

But where to start?  My lovely husband went to Borders one night and surprised me with a book so that I could teach myself.  (My friends who are in the know said that this is the best way to learn.)  Add a knitting starter kit from Michael’s with a few youtube videos (here and here) and I was ready to go!

Thus far, I’ve drafted one half of a scarf using a standard stockinette stitch.  Knit one row.  Purl one row.  Repeat.  I was so proud when I used up the whole skein!  But alas.  I needed more yarn and I haven’t had a chance to get back to Michael’s, so my scarf sits unfinished…

But wait!

My handy-dandy starter kit came with TWO sets of knitting needles, and me being the savvy spendthrift that I am had already picked up three other skeins of yarn (bought on sale!) so I could start a new project!  And tonight, I did just that.  Scarf #2 is on its way.  And my newly minted knittin’ fingers are happy.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives