Wrinkles by Amy Rae

Back on the Scene

Posted on: January 17, 2011

As per usual, school starts and I disappear for the semester under mounds of paper with my nose buried in a book.  Odd objects and dirty clothes start piling up in my house.  My hair and my relationships both start to smell a little a bit.  Then, a brief reprieve:  BREAK!  Days and weeks of having *nothing* to do and nowhere to go.  Glorious, glorious freedom.

After a maddening semester, the winter holiday break was especially good to me (and my crafting soul).  I was able to create a number of Christmas gifts for friends and family while also crafting just to make myself happy!

This holiday, though, had several low low moments for myself, my friends, and my family.  The day before Thanksgiving, my neighbors lost their young son to an untimely accident.  Any death is tragic, but I believe that the deaths of young kids are especially so.  My mom and I witnessed the gorgeous tribute to Andrew’s life a few days following his death.

Then, in December, with the anniversary of my beloved grandmother’s death fresh on my mind, my best friend lost her outrageously fabulous father.  Growing up, Catbird was always so kind to me.  One of the best things anyone has ever said to me came from him.  In eighth grade, standing alongside some of my girlfriends dressed and ready to go to a dance, I was feeling inadequate and outside the group of girls that I was with.  Somehow, I never felt like I fit in – like I was never good enough, like I was never dressed right, like I stood out.  Catbird looked at me standing with those other girls and said to me, “You are the prettiest one there.”  Now I don’t put much stock on beauty, but that was exactly what I needed to hear at that moment.  My heart soared, and I was tickled that he had shared that with me.  I never even told anyone.

My best friend is just beside herself with his loss, and who can blame her?  I only hope to be strong enough to help her through this.  Our friendship is old and strong, and one that I am thankful for.  She will make it through this to the other side.  And as my grandmother always said, “This, too, shall pass.”

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives