Wrinkles by Amy Rae

$20 Pom-Poms?!?!

Posted on: July 30, 2010

You gotta be kidding me, right?  My husband and I were in Michael’s today, and I found a Martha Stewart kit for pom-poms.  The price?  $20.  The amount of poms?  7.  Yeah, that’s right – SEVEN!  I’m no math whiz, but that equals more than 2 dollars a pom-pom.  RIDICULOUS!

When trolling for decorating ideas for the bug’s birthday party, I came across a TON of great blogs: here, here and here.  A lot of these people were decorating with pom-poms, and recommended this site on Etsy.  Figuring that I could order a quick few for the party, I checked them out.  But at $5 a pom, that was a bit out of my price range.  Geez louise!  But apparently that was the going rate for these bad boys.

I found a super tutorial on Design Dazzle, and headed to Wal-Mart to check out their tissue paper selection.  $1.00 per pack of 9 sheets.  The DD tutorial recommends 10 sheets, but I figured -1 wouldn’t hurt.  And it didn’t – I think the poms turned out fine!  Eight poms for a smooth $8.  Saving money?  CHECK.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives