Wrinkles by Amy Rae

Thoughts on Friendship

Posted on: April 14, 2010

What I cannot love, I overlook. Is that real friendship?
~ Anais Nin


The past few days have been filled with girlfriend love, which I absolutely cherish.  To the gfs near and far, in other states and right next door, who help me create, who push me further and further, who create road-trips and memories – thank you.  

Monday night saw five soul-touching hours, where six of us reached across tables, shared food, and opened our hearts to help close wounds, bolster spirits, and fight the “good fight”.  Together, we commiserate and celebrate our experiences with graduate school.  We push the boundaries of race and racism, love and sisterhood.  Like one of the girls once said, these are the experiences which make graduate school for me.  I can share my family, my life, and my love with girls who reciprocate.  That fills my heart in ways I cannot express.  


My friends are different and extraordinary, and I like to think we compliment each other in special ways.  Tonight, in a moment of low, it was so easy to reach out, to write, to call and to connect with girls whom I know will encourage, support, and reassure me.  Most of all, I know that they will be there.  I am so thankful for that.  It’s like the older I get, the more beautiful and meaningful these relationships become.  With LJ and K-smart, laughter comes easily and honestly.  Kaybee is my forever love love love, and my Monday night posse are my intellectual heroes.  The ladies of the Carolina Mafia (stretched far and wide) simply amaze me in all they do, everyday.  These people question and provoke me, expose and cover me, laugh and cry with me.  I am so fortunate to know these magnificent, open, giving women.  


There is a safety in love, a security in truthfulness, and a happiness in friendship that smoothes the creases and relaxes the spirit.  And for that, I am truly grateful.  

* * * Thanks, ladies! * * * 

If you judge people, you have no time to love them.
~  Mother Teresa


Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives